21 Days Of Consistency : A Bit Disciplined Journey!

21 Days Of Consistency : A Bit Disciplined Journey!

21 Days.... More than 50 problems solved... A savage beginning for a beginner!

They say Scientifically it takes 21 days to be consistent in doing things....

I tried it...

And it worked!

Chapter 1: The Urge of Motivation

Being in one of the reputed technological institutions in the country, I used to see that around me there were people who used to discuss and solve daily problems on various platforms, having a chitchat about various DSA concepts and innovations taking place in the Tech industry. Some went too far - making teams to participate in hackathons and even working on some big projects together.

ME, on the other hand, did not had even the basic knowledge of the basic concepts in DSA. I used to consider "these" people as "BADE LOG" (Big Personalities) and used to say that let them do the show-off, I will do things later...... (Just like a Master Procrastinator and a Jealous guy!)..

But deep inside, I used to feel a bit insecure about myself and I used to worry like "AB MERA AAGE KYA HOGA?" (What will happen of me in future?)

Chapter 2: It's Action Time, Baby!

Somewhere somehow I needed to start very badly, so I chose the "MUHURTA" (Date) during the start of my mid-semester exams, i.e. 13th March, 2023.

I just solved one question on that day, and went on solving one question per day the days that passed by - keeping leetcode as my choice for solving the DSA questions.

Some days I got hit by Adrenaline Rush - I solved more than 2-3 questions per day! I got surprised myself! Because the person who couldn't solve at least one question in weeks was able to solve 2-3 questions per day!!!!!!

This journey concluded successfully on 2nd April, 2023.

Chapter 3: Things that I Learnt

Though the questions I solved were of Easy difficulty, I encountered some as tough which after a lot of tries I had to refer solution and got idea from it..

People sometimes have much better approaches than you... so whenever I solve question using my own logic most of the times; I don't forget to check the approaches of the fellow people and take notes from it..

During these days, I mostly worked on C++ STL and DSA concepts. Though I could not cover all of them, but at least I tried to cover some of the basic concepts of it. I need to still work on linked lists, trees, graphs, greedy algos, dp ,etc. and there is so much more to explore..

Chapter 4: A small, but Big Achievement!

During these days of solving one question per day, I completed solving 100 questions on LeetCode!

I know for most of you peeps this might not be considered as an achievement, but for me, as a beginner, this was a big accomplishment, sticking to the disciplined routine..

Chapter 5: The Future Plans

This was just the beginning... there is still a long way to go..

This small journey helped me to keep away that small little procrastinating devil in me and to focus on things and gain interest in writing codes - the activity which earlier I presumed to be tedious and boring, is now fun!

I want to explore and gain knowledge about various tech fields out there and choose my interest field and work on it.

These days indeed helped me to gain self-confidence when it comes to solving problems and also encouraged me to explore various topics along the way.

If you were a Master Procrastinator like me who was waiting for that "TOMORROW" to arrive, then I suggest you to try your thing for 21 days and see the magic revealing!

Hoping to connect with you all and share exciting experiences like this!